Tudor's MenuBar

The friendliest kitchen in all the land!

An Italian Fishy Feast

Hi folks and welcome back! It’s been a crazy couple of months that kept me away from sharing great food with you. But I’m back and I got some great recipes for you all coming soon!

I want to start with a funny food joke I heard the other day. “Why did the basil and ginger get thrown in jail? Because the lemongrassed.

Let’s start with a favorite of mine, I made this not long ago for dinner. Surprisingly there was a sale on seabass at my local supermarket. So I said, hell yeah, £2 for a seabass, thank you ASDA.

This Mediterranean style recipe is so simple and easy to make and it’s guaranteed to make your dinner a hit with the family and friends. I have to note that I was a bit cautious about the fennel bulb, I wasn’t sure what that was and I’d never used before. In the end it turned to be delicious. I should really get over my fear of vegetables.

seabass italian style mediterranean flavorWhat you need: 

fresh whole seabass
1 fennel bulb
1 lemon
basil leaves
black olives
spring onions
1 tbsp olive oil

Side dish:

Gordon Ramsey’s Crushed Potatoes (really nice and I didn’t have to swear or abuse anyone while making this)new potatoes crushed oil olives potato salad

1kg new potatoes
3 tbsp olive oil
4 spring onions
black olives

To start things off heat the oven to 200C (392F). In the meantime stuff the fish cavity with fennel slices, lemon slices and basil leaves and spring onions.

Scatter the remaining slices of fennel, basil, lemon and the olives into the baking pan. Place the fish on top and then drizzle the olive oil on each fish.

Put the fish in the oven and bake it for 30 mins. You might have to leave a few extra minutes, but keep an eye on it and when it starts to brown, it means it’s ready.

That’s it nice and easy.

While the fish is baking in the Mediterranean flavors, prepare the potatoes.

Boil the new potatoes in salted water for 15 – 20 minutes, until they’re cooked thoroughly. Gordon Ramsey recommends to peel the potatoes first, but I didn’t and they were fine. It’s up to preference, I guess. How smooth do you like your potatoes.

Once the potatoes are ready, drain them and put them in a bowl. Add the olive oil and crush them (careful not to mash them). Add the spring onions (tiny slices) and the black olives and season to taste.

Just serve with a nice white wine and there you have it. How easy is that?

seabass cooked italian style

Hope you enjoy it and I’ll see you next time!

Thanks for reading!

3 comments on “An Italian Fishy Feast

  1. Eva Taylor
    May 18, 2013

    I love seabass and pairing it with fennel is fantastic! My favourite Italian restaurant used to have a fennel and mango salad that went do incredibly well together; the fennel was shaved very thinly, so delicious with the sweetness of the mango. The potatoes look great too, and I loved the joke you wove into it!
    I haven’t had seabass in a long time, they say it’s on the endangered species list here, not sure if its the same there, or even if it’s the same fish!

    • tudorteodorescu88
      May 18, 2013

      Thank you Eva! I’m glad you like the recipe. It was really nice so easy to make.

      I loved your sweet chicken strips. They looked amazing, I’m thinking with a nice blue cheese dip, served as a snack or started.

      In terms of the fish, I tried googling it, but there are many species of seabass. It might be endangered over there, I’m not sure. Here in UK it’s one of the cheapest and it’s often on discounts or buy one get one free.

      I was surprised with the fennel, never tried it before. It gives out a nice flavor. I forgot to mention that the smell, when it bakes, is awesome. The olives, the fennel and the lemon makes your kitchen smell amazing.

      • Eva Taylor
        May 18, 2013

        Cool. Even the fennel fronds can be used similar to dill. Going to try fennel and black olives for sure.

Leave a Reply

© Tudor Teodorescu and tudorsmenubar, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Tudor Teodorescu and tudorsmenubar with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
